Commercial license for your HVAC business

Commercial license for your HVAC business

Want to start an HVAC business and need a license?  here’s how to get an HVAC license in Texas, California, Florida, Michigan, Maryland.

The heating, ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC) industry deals with the heating, ventilation and air conditioning systems of an object or space (car, airplane, boat, train, etc.). The truth is that heating, ventilation and air conditioning are closely related. HVAC systems are designed to provide ventilation, reduce air infiltration, and maintain pressure relationships between spaces.

A ventilation and air conditioning specialist is a highly trained technician who installs and maintains ventilation and cooling systems. They also perform safety, air quality and energy efficiency testing and audits by integrating heating, cooling and ventilation systems with ductwork and electrical systems.

HVAC technicians also install and repair appropriate wiring and control devices. Some HVAC professionals receive specialized training to work in areas such as solar heating, radiant heating, or refrigerants.

For HVAC technicians who wish to practice in the United States of America, it is imperative to acquire the required license before being able to obtain an operating license. There are 3 steps to follow if you want to protect your HVAC business license in the United States of America;

3 preliminary steps to obtain a commercial license for your HVAC business

  1. On vocational training

One of the avenues that you can take in your application to apply for an HVAC business license in the United States of America is on-the-job training. Once you can get the training and industry experience you need, you can apply for and receive an HVAC license.

  1. Visit a technical college

Another option you can use to get your HVAC license is to complete an HVAC technician training program offered by an accredited technical college, trade school, or community college, which lasts between six months and two years. Depending on the program, graduates receive a graduate certificate or diploma. Courses include safety procedures, operation of HVAC equipment, and related skills such as reading drawings and installing electrical wiring and controls.

  1. Become a student

Apprenticeship programs last three to five years. Students work full time with 2,000 hours per year. Students also complete 144 hours of classes per year.

Industry and labor organizations sponsor apprenticeship programs, often in collaboration with local colleges or technical schools. Prospective students must be 18 years of age or older and have a high school diploma or general equivalency diploma. They must also pass a drug test and a basic math test and have a valid driver’s license.

General License Conditions for Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning (HVAC) Systems in the United States of America

in the United States of America, you are required by law to apply for and obtain a license before you can practice as a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) technician, and in some states this is required.

  • Vermont and Arizona are states that have no licensing requirements, but you must take and pass a written exam.
  • Texas accepts a passing grade for the North American Technician Proficiency Exam in addition to registering with the state government.
  • Other states have various licensing exams that they administer or pass.
  • The Federal Environmental Protection Agency requires certification for HVAC technicians who handle refrigerants.
  • Every HVAC refrigeration technician must pass a written exam in one or more areas: high pressure systems and low pressure systems.
  • Employers often want to see professional titles even if they do not have a government mandate. For this reason, it is advisable to obtain certification from a recognized industry or professional organization. Certification is awarded for passing a written exam.
  • Eligibility for these exams includes one to two years of work experience and may also include the completion of formal courses.
  • Certification is also available for those taking courses in specialist areas such as handling refrigerants. …

Obtaining a commercial license for your HVAC business in all US states

1. Alabama

In Alabama, HVAC technicians must obtain a license from the Alabama Heating, Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Board before they can practice in the state. In addition to meeting the basic requirements stated above, you must meet the following requirements:

  • You must pass the exam for which you must be qualified.
  • You must have a training certificate that has been issued by the board of directors within the past two years, or you must submit transcripts confirming successful completion of an approved course. Otherwise, you must provide proof of at least 3000 hours (18 months) of experience with a licensed contractor.
  • Once you have passed the exam, you must apply for active certification, which includes a fee and a deposit of $ 15,000.

2. Alaska

Alaska is also one of the states that requires anyone who wants to work as an HVAC technician or run an HVAC system to apply for and obtain an HVAC license. To do this, you need a mechanical administrator license or a mechanical administrator.

Interestingly, there are several types of mechanical administrator licenses available in Alaska that are related to HVAC, and your retention license will go a long way in determining how much mechanical work you can do. He:

  • Heating, Cooling and Process Piping (HCPP) – Requirement – Apprentice or management experience in four of the previous six years; or a mechanical engineering degree plus one year as an apprentice trumpeter or field engineer; or professional registration of a mechanical engineer, as well as experience in managing mechanical contracts during one of the three previous years.
  • Temperature control of mechanical systems
  • Heating, ventilation and air conditioning of the accommodation – Requirement – Apprenticeship experience for two of the previous four years.
  • Residential plumbing and hydraulic heating. Experience as a recruiter required for two of the previous four years.
  • Unlimited HVAC / sheet metal. four of the previous six years; or a mechanical engineering degree plus apprenticeship or field engineering experience in one of the previous three years; or professional registration in mechanical engineering and experience in managing mechanical contracts within one of the previous three years.
  • Unlimited Cooling – Required – Apprenticeship experience in two of the previous four years; or confirmation of completion of an accredited course or school.

Please note that you must pass and pass the multiple choice exam, which costs $ 125. Once you have obtained your license (value of $ 250), you will need to register as a mechanical contractor (value of $ 50), which includes a business license, $ 10,000 lien guarantee, proof liability insurance and proof of payment. employee compensation.

3. Arizona

In Arizona, anyone who wishes to work as an HVAC contractor or technician must apply for and obtain a government HVAC license and you can obtain one from the Arizona Registrar of Contractors. In addition to meeting the basic requirements as stated above, in order to qualify for an HVAC license in Arizona;

  • You will need to demonstrate four years of experience in the HVAC specialty in which you are applying for a license; or have two years of work experience and have completed a course or training.
  • You must pass the commercial and commercial management exam,
  • You must be registered with the Arizona Business Commission or the Arizona Secretary. State
  • You must show proof of the employee’s insurance claim and receive cash collateral.

4 Arkansas

Arkansas is also one of the states that requires anyone who wants to work as an HVAC technician or run an HVAC business to apply for and obtain an HVAC license. Licensed by the Arkansas Department of Health, Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration Licensing Note that there are five classes of HVAC licensing in Arkansas.

In addition to meeting the basic requirements stated above in order to qualify for an HVAC license in Arkansas;

  • You must have pre-approval to be eligible for the exam
  • Demonstrate two years of experience as an HVAC contractor or contractor employee.
  • HVAC commercial licenses must be renewed annually.

5. California

If you are interested in doing an HVAC technician or contractor in California, you must apply for and obtain an HVAC license. You can obtain a license from the State Department of Consumer Protection from the State Licensing Board. Please note that a CVC C-20 license is required for any work over $ 500.

In addition to meeting the basic requirements stated above to obtain a California HVAC license;

  • To take the exam, you must obtain prior state approval and you must pass (72% minimum) the professional, business and legal exams.
  • To be eligible for the exam, you must have at least four years of work experience within the previous ten years.
  • You must have a bond of $ 15,000 and proof of workers’ compensation insurance.

6. Colorado

Interestingly, Colorado is one of the states that does not require a license for contractors or HVAC technicians who wish to work in the state. Please note that local licenses and certifications may be required, so you should visit your local authority to make the necessary inquiries.

7. Connecticut

If you are interested in practicing an HVAC technician or contractor in Connecticut, you must apply for and obtain an HVAC license or journeyman license. In addition to meeting the basic requirements stated above in order to qualify for an HVAC license in Connecticut;

  • You will need to complete a registered apprenticeship program or equivalent.
  • You will need to take the exam and pay the registration fee.
  • To obtain a contractor’s license, you must demonstrate that you have two years of work as a licensed apprentice. You will need to pass the Entrepreneur’s Exam and the Business and Law Exam.

Please note that the license must be renewed annually.

8. Delaware

Delaware is also one of the states that requires anyone wishing to work as an HVAC technician or run an HVAC business to apply for and obtain an HVAC license, approved by the Delaware Department of Health, Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration Licensing Department.

Please note that there are two types of licenses which determine the type of work you are allowed to do. The HVACR restricted master is able to provide work in a specialty. To provide services in more than one specialized area, you must have a basic HVACR license.

In addition to meeting the basic requirements stated above in order to qualify for an HVAC license in Delaware;

  • You must provide proof of an apprenticeship certificate and at least two years of experience under the direction of a general contractor or at least seven years of experience under the direction of a general contractor.
  • You must pay the required administrative fees

9. District of Columbia

If you are interested in pursuing an HVAC technician or contractor in the DC area, it is imperative to apply and obtain an HVAC license or journeyman license.

The license is available from the District of Columbia Department of Industrial Commerce. Please note that in addition to meeting the basic requirements stated above, to obtain a license as an apprentice or general contractor in the District of Columbia;

  • You will have to pay the registration fee
  • You must pass a written exam.
  • The license must be renewed every two years.

10 Florida

Florida is also one of the states that requires anyone looking to work as an HVAC technician or run an HVAC business to apply for and obtain an HVAC license. The license can be obtained from the Department of Business and Professional Regulation.

Note that there are a number of licenses available, including Certified Grade A, B, and C Contractor Licenses (to work anywhere in the state) and registered (to work in a specific locality). Please note that in addition to meeting the basic requirements stated above to obtain a license as an apprentice or general contractor in Florida,

  • Candidates must pass both the professional exam and the business and financial exam.
  • Depending on the license level you are applying for, you will need to demonstrate training as well as some work experience.
  • Pay the required administrative fees

11. Georgia

If you are interested in doing HVAC technician or contractor in Georgia, it is necessary to apply and obtain HVAC license or journeyman license. The HVAC license is issued by the Air Conditioning Contractors Division of the Construction Industry Licensing Board.

Please note that there are two categories of licenses: Class I with restrictions and Class II without restrictions.

Please note that in addition to fulfilling the basic conditions stated above, to obtain a license as an apprentice or general contractor in Georgia;

  • Both licenses require an exam and applicants must be pre-approved by the state.
  • Class I applicants must have four years of work experience, while Class II applicants must have five years work experience.
  • $ 10,000 in cash or a bond is required in the county where you plan to work.

12. Hawaii

Hawaii is also one of the states that requires anyone looking to work as an HVAC technician or run an HVAC business to apply for and obtain an HVAC license. The license can be obtained from the Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs.

Please note that in addition to meeting the basic requirements stated above, to obtain a license as an apprentice or general contractor in Hawaii;

  • You will need to pass a legal and legal exam, as well as a professional exam.
  • To be eligible, you must have four full years of experience within the previous ten years. supervision time as an apprentice, foreman, supervisor or contractor in the field of the specialty for which you are applying for a license.
  • You must show proof of employee compensation insurance, liability insurance ($ 100,000 per person; $ 300,000 per person). accident and material damage in the amount of USD 50,000.

13 Idaho

The state of Idaho is one of the few states that requires a license for anyone working in the HVAC industry, including apprentices, apprentices, and contractors, etc. Please note that there are two classes of HVAC contractor licenses in Idaho – contractor and specialty contractor – and both are issued by the Idaho Building Safety Division.

Please note that in addition to meeting the basic requirements stated above, to obtain a license as an HVAC technician or technician;

  • You must provide proof of at least 24 months of experience as an HVAC apprentice or, for a special contractor’s license, 24 months in that specialty.
  • A security deposit of $ 2,000 is required.

14. Illinois

Illinois is one of the states where there are no state licensing requirements. However, there are local HVAC licensing requirements. It is important to check the licensing conditions in the county or city in which you plan to work as an HVAC contractor or technician.

15. Indiana

Indiana is also one of the states that does not have state-level HVAC licensing requirements, but many local governments do.

So if you want to work as an HVAC contractor or technician in Indiana, you just need to check the requirements of the county or city in which you plan to work.

16.Iowa

The State of Iowa is one of the few states that requires a license for anyone working in the HVAC field, including apprentices, apprentices, and contractors. HVAC contractors must be licensed by the Iowa Department of Health, Plumbing, and Mechanical Systems.

Please note that in addition to meeting the basic requirements stated above, to obtain a license as an HVAC technician or contract in Iowa;

  • You must be a licensed HVAC technician or hire at least one person with that license.
  • You must show a permanent workplace and confirm that you are working properly. insured by a deposit.
  • You must pay the required administrative fees

17. Kansas

Kansas is also one of the states that does not have state-level HVAC licensing requirements, but many local governments do. So if you want to work as an HVAC contractor or technician in Kansas, just check the requirements of the county or city in which you plan to work.

18. Kentucky

Kentucky is also one of the states that requires anyone looking to work as an HVAC technician or run an HVAC business to apply for and obtain an HVAC license. HVAC contractors must be licensed by the Department of Housing, Building, and Construction to operate in Kentucky.

Please note that in addition to meeting the basic requirements stated above, to obtain an HVAC Technician license or contract in Kentucky;

  • Applicants must have a current Kentucky mechanic. the license is valid for at least two years and must be under the direct supervision of the main HVAC contractor.

You will need to pass the professional exam, as well as the business and law exam

  • You must have liability insurance of at least $ 500,000.
  • It takes eight hours of continuing education to renew your license.

20. Louisiana

If you are interested in doing an HVAC technician or contractor in Louisiana, you must apply and obtain an HVAC license or apprentice license. The HVAC license is issued by the Louisiana State Licensing Board for contractors.

Please note that a commercial license is required for any project over $ 50,000, including labor and materials. In addition to meeting the basic requirements stated above, to obtain a license as an HVAC technician or contract in Louisiana;

  • You will need to pass the professional exam in the specialty you play in order to work for or for a Mechanical Contractor license covering all subcategories.
  • You will also need to pass a business and law exam.
  • You must pay the registration fee.

20.Maine

Maine is also one of the states that does not have state-level HVAC licensing requirements, but many local governments do. So if you want to work as an HVAC contractor or technician in Maine, just check the requirements of the county or city in which you plan to work.

21. Maryland

If you are interested in becoming an HVAC technician or contractor in Maryland, you must apply and obtain an HVAC license or apprenticeship license. The HVAC license is issued by the Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, HVAC contractor of Maryland.

In addition to meeting the basic conditions stated above to qualify for a license;

  • You will need to hold a Journeyman Heating and Air Conditioning Technician License for three years and supervised by a licensed HVAC prime contractor.
  • There are three different licenses – HVACR General Contractor, HAVCR General Contractor, and HVACR Limited Contractor – and you must pass the exam for the specific license required.
  • You must show proof of general liability insurance and property damage insurance.
  • You must pay the registration fee.

22. Massachusetts

In Massachusetts, if you want to work as a general HVAC contractor, you don’t need a government license unless you want to work specifically in the refrigeration niche. But a refrigeration contractor working with more than 10 tons of refrigeration equipment must be licensed.

In addition to meeting the basic requirements above, to obtain a license as an HVAC technician or contract in Massachusetts;

  • You will need to complete 100 hours of theoretical education at an approved school
  • to take a test
  • demonstrate that you have 2000 hours of experience as a licensed refrigeration technician.
  • Pay the required registration fee

23. Michigan

If you are interested in doing an HVAC technician or contractor in Michigan, it is necessary to apply and obtain a mechanical contractor’s license. This license is issued by the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, the Bureau of Building Codes, and the Engineering Department. The licenses are very specialized and you will have to choose the classification in which you want to operate. There are also special licenses.

In addition to meeting the basic requirements outlined above to obtain a Michigan Mechanical Contractors License;

  • You will need to take an exam
  • To be eligible for the exam, you must demonstrate at least three years of experience with each job classification for which you wish to be licensed.
  • You must pay the required administrative fees.

24. Minnesota

Interestingly, the state of Minnesota doesn’t have any government licensing requirements for HVAC contractors, but anyone intending to work as an HVAC technician or contractor in Minnesota must apply for a contractor’s license. in mechanics and is expected to submit a $ 25,000 bond with By the Department of Labor and Industry.

Please note that there may be local licensing requirements, so check the requirements of the county or city in which you plan to operate.

25. Mississippi

If you are interested in becoming an HVAC technician or contractor in Mississippi, you must apply for and obtain a mechanical heating, ventilation, and air conditioning license. This license is issued by the Mississippi Council of Contractors. In addition to meeting the basic requirements stated above to obtain a license as an HVAC technician or contractor in Mississippi,

  • Candidates must pass the professional exam as well as the law and business administration exam.
  • In addition, you will need to show the details of any HVAC experience,
  • You must provide proof of general liability insurance and employee insurance compensation
  • You must provide a financial statement
  • You must pay the registration fee.

26. Missouri

Missouri is also one of the states that does not have state-level HVAC licensing requirements, but many local governments have requirements. So if you want to work as an HVAC contractor or technician in Missouri, you just need to check the requirements of the county or city in which you plan to work.

27. Montana

In Montana, the law is slightly different. For example, if you want to work as an HVAC contractor who does not plan to hire employees, there is no licensing requirement, but you are required by law to register with the Ministry of Labor. and Industry.

Please note that if you plan to hire employees, you must apply for and obtain a General Construction Contractor License before you can do your job as an HVAC specialist. No testing or experience is required to obtain a Montana general contractor’s license, but you will need proof of workers’ compensation insurance.

28. Nebraska

Nebraska is also one of the states that does not have state level HVAC licensing requirements, but many local governments have requirements. So if you are looking to work as an HVAC contractor or technician in Nebraska, just check the requirements of the county or city in which you plan to work.

Please note that as a contractor in the state you will need to register with the Nebraska Department of Labor and if you have workers you must show proof of workers’ compensation.

29. Nevada

If you are interested in doing an HVAC technician or contractor in Nevada, you must apply for and obtain a refrigeration and air conditioning contractor license. A refrigeration and air conditioning contractor reports to multiple divisions and you must apply.

In addition to meeting the basic requirements stated above, to obtain an HVAC technician license or contract in Nevada;

  • You must show at least four years out of the last ten as an apprentice, foreman, contractor or supervisor.
  • Appropriate training from an accredited school can be used to fulfill the seniority requirement of up to three years.
  • You will be required to take a professional exam as well as a construction management survey exam, which includes questions on business management skills.
  • You must pass background checks and submit current financial statements.
  • You must pay mandatory application fees

30, New Hampshire

New Hampshire is also one of the states that does not have state-level HVAC licensing requirements, but many local governments do. So if you are looking to work as an HVAC contractor or technician in New Hampshire, just be sure to check the project permit requirements before you start working on large projects.

31. New Jersey

If you are interested in doing an HVAC technician or contractor in New Jersey, you must apply and obtain a Master HVAC license. This license is issued by the New Jersey State Council of Experts for Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration.

In addition to meeting the basic requirements stated above, in order to qualify for a license as a prime HVAC contractor;

  • You will need to complete a bachelor’s degree in HVACR from an accredited college as well as a year of HVAC experience.
  • or a bachelor’s degree in HVACR. a closely related profession with three years of experience in the HVAC field,
  • or completion of a vocational training program and two years of HVAC experience,
  • or four years of study as an HVAC apprentice and have one year of HVAC experience.
  • You must provide proof of liability insurance
  • You must post a bond of $ 3,000.
  • You must pay the required administrative fees.

32. New Mexico

New Mexico is also one of the states that requires anyone wishing to work as an HVAC technician or run an HVAC business to apply for and obtain an HVAC license. HVAC contractors must be licensed by the New Mexico Department of Regulation and Licensing.

In addition to fulfilling the basic conditions stated above, in order to qualify for a license;

  • You will need to provide proof of two to four years of work experience, depending on the classification you are applying for.
  • You will need to pass a professional exam as well as a business and law exam,
  • You must apply.
  • You must complete five hours of continuing education to renew your license.
  • You must pay the registration fee.

33. New York

New York is also one of the states that does not have state level HVAC licensing requirements, but many local governments have requirements. So if you want to work as an HVAC contractor or technician in New York City, just check the requirements of the county or city in which you plan to work.

34. North Carolina

North Carolina is also one of the states that requires anyone looking to work as an HVAC technician or run an HVAC business to apply for and obtain an HVAC license. HVAC contractors must be licensed by the State Refrigeration Contractors Board.

In addition to fulfilling the basic conditions stated above, in order to qualify for a license;

  • You must justify two years of professional experience, of which up to half of the amount that can be covered by academic or technical training.
  • You must pass all four parts of the exam
  • You must provide a deposit.

35. North Dakota

In North Dakota the rule is slightly different because, as an HVAC contractor works on projects worth $ 4,000 or more, you will need a state license from the North Dakota Secretary of State. To obtain a state license, you must apply for and provide proof of worker’s compensation and liability insurance.

Note that there are additional licensing requirements locally and you should check for them in the county or city where you live. intend to work on or complete your project.

36. Ohio

If you are interested in doing an HVAC technician or contractor in Ohio, be sure to apply and obtain an HVAC mechanical license. This license is issued by the Ohio Building Industry Licensing Board. In addition to meeting the basic requirements above, to be eligible for the exam,

  • You must demonstrate five years of experience as an HVAC professional
  • You must pay the registration fee.
  • You must present proof of liability insurance.

37. Oklahoma

If you are interested in doing an HVAC technician or contractor in Oklahoma, you must apply and obtain a mechanical HVAC license. This license is issued by the Oklahoma Building Industry Council and is subject to a Mechanical Contractors License. Interestingly, several categories of licenses are available.

In addition to fulfilling the basic requirements stated above, in order to qualify for the exam and obtain a license;

  • You must show proof of at least four years of HVAC experience, or show a combination of hours of training or education plus years of work experience. The number of hours of experience required varies depending on the type of training you received.
  • You will also need proof of liability insurance
  • You must present a security deposit of $ 5,000.

38. Oregon

Oregon is also one of the states that requires anyone looking to work as an HVAC technician or run an HVAC business to apply for and obtain an HVAC license Interestingly, there are two types of licenses – Specialized Maintenance Contractor – HVAC / R License and Commercial and Residential License – both issued by the Oregon Building Contractors Board.

Note that the limited license does not require an exam, but you will need to demonstrate four years of installation experience and complete certified HVAC / R training. The CCB license requires you to complete 16 hours of training and exam. You will also need to show proof of liability insurance and workers’ compensation insurance.

39. Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania is one of the states that does not have state-level HVAC licensing requirements, but many local governments do. So if you want to work as an HVAC contractor or technician in Pennsylvania, just check the requirements of the county or city in which you plan to work.

40. Rhode Island

There are several categories and classes of government licenses in Rhode Island that an HVAC contractor must have in order to work in Rhode Island. Some of the main licenses are:

  • Refrigeration Master Class I (Unlimited) – To be eligible, you must have a travel license for a Refrigeration I installation for one year or a Refrigeration Master II license for one year.
  • Refrigerated Master Class II (Limited) – To participate in the program, you must be eligible to submit to Refrigeration Travel Agent II for at least three years.

41 South Carolina

South Carolina is also one of the states that requires anyone who wants to work as an HVAC technician or run an HVAC company to apply for and obtain an HVAC license. HVAC contractors must be licensed by the South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation.

In addition to meeting the basic requirements stated above, you must also:

  • at least one year of HVAC experience under the direct supervision of a prime heating and air contractor or licensed HVAC contractor.
  • You will also need to pass the exam and pay the deposit.
  • If you have a Primary Heating and Air License from the South Carolina Municipal Association or are an SC HVAC mechanical contractor, you are not required to take the exam.
  • You must pay the registration fee. …

42 South Dakota

South Dakota is also one of the states that does not have state-level HVAC licensing requirements, but many local governments do. Therefore, if you are looking to work as an HVAC contractor or technician in South Dakota, simply check the requirements of the county or city in which you plan to operate.

43. Tennessee

In Tennessee, as an HVAC contractor, you must hold a government license before bidding on projects valued at $ 25,000 or more. If you are eligible for an HVAC Contractor License, you will obtain a Tennessee Mechanical HVAC Contractor License Contractor License from the Contractor Licensing Board.

Please note that to obtain a license that meets the basic requirements stated above;

  • You will need to pass the professional exam as well as the entrepreneurship and law exam.
  • You must also present proof of liability insurance.
  • You must also pay the administration fees.

44. Texas

Texas is also one of the states that requires anyone looking to work as an HVAC technician or run an HVAC business to apply for and obtain an HVAC license. HVAC contractors must be licensed by the Texas Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Contractors Advisory Board. Note that there are two license classes that determine the size of the units you can work with.

In addition to meeting the basic requirements stated above in order to qualify to take the exam and receive your license;

  • Within the past six years, you must have at least four years of HVAC experience under the supervision of a licensed professional.
  • The training can replace several years of experience with a four-year diploma in air conditioning or refrigeration or technology or mechanical engineering, replacing two years of work experience; a two-year diploma or certification program replacing one year of work experience; and a one-year certification or training program replacing six months of experience.
  • You must pass the exam
  • You must show proof of insurance.

45. Utah

Utah is also one of the states that requires anyone looking to work as an HVAC technician or run an HVAC business to apply for and obtain an HVAC license. HVAC contractors must be licensed by the Utah Department of Professional and Occupational Licensing.

Please note that there are a number of subclasses under an HVAC contractor license, depending on the type of work you plan to do. In addition to fulfilling the basic requirements described above, in order to qualify for the exam and obtain a license;

  • You must provide proof of four years of full-time work experience within the past ten years. years
  • You must pass the professional exam as well as the business and law exam.
  • You must also show proof of liability insurance and employee insurance compensation.
  • To renew your license, you must complete six hours of continuing education.

46. ​​Vermont

Vermont is also one of the states that does not have state-level HVAC licensing requirements, but many local governments do. So if you want to work as an HVAC contractor or technician in Vermont, just check the requirements of the county or city in which you plan to work.

47. Virginia

If you are interested in doing an HVAC technician or contractor in Virginia, it is necessary to apply and obtain an HVAC mechanical license. This license is issued by the Department of Professional and Professional Regulation.

Please note that there are three classes of contractor licenses (A, B and C), depending on the cost of the work you plan to do. The requirements for each type of license include:

  • Class A – Take an eight hour pre-license course, show five years of work experience and $ 45,000 in capital, pass the professional and legal exam, and show proof of insurance.
  • Class B – Take an eight-hour pre-license course, demonstrate three years of experience and $ 15,000 capital, pass business and legal exams, and present proof of insurance.
  • Class C – Take an eight hour course before licensing, demonstrate two years of work experience, pass professional and legal exams, and present proof of insurance.

48. Washington

If you are interested in doing an HVAC technician or contractor in Washington, it is necessary to apply and obtain an HVAC mechanical license. This license is issued by the Washington State Department of Labor and Industry.

Please note that in addition to meeting the basic requirements to qualify for a Mechanical HVAC license in Washington DC;

  • You must have an HVAC certificate from an accredited school.
  • You will need to take an exam.
  • You must pay a mandatory application fee.

49. West Virginia

The state of West Virginia requires that all HVAC contractors or technicians who wish to work in the state hold a government air conditioning license issued by the West Virginia Department of Commerce Division of Labor. Please note that in addition to meeting the essential requirements to be eligible for an HVAC Mechanical License in West Virginia,

  • You must pass the business exam as well as the business and law exam.
  • You must also present proof of the employee’s insurance claim.
  • You must pay a mandatory application fee.

50.isconsin

In Wisconsin, it’s important to state that getting certified if you want to work as an HVAC technician is optional, but getting certified as an HVAC qualifier can help your business and it. can cover local jurisdictional requirements.

If you meet the basic and state requirements, you will be licensed from the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services. To meet this requirement,

  • You will need to take an exam.
  • You must have at least 1000 hours of experience per year for four years, or at least four years. an engineering school or accredited college, for a total of four years with a combination of education and experience.
  • You must pay the registration fee.

51. Wyoming

Wyoming is one of the states that does not have state-level HVAC licensing requirements, but many local governments do. So if you want to work as an HVAC contractor or technician in Wyoming, just check the requirements of the county or city in which you plan to work.

You can bookmark this page