Are you looking to start a tattoo parlor business in the United States? here’s how to get a tattoo studio license in Texas, California, Florida, Michigan, Maryland.
With the public acceptance of tattoos, the art of applying ink designs to the skin has become a very profitable business. Nowadays, many entrepreneurs are making a very decent income by running tattoo parlors in various states across the country. Due to trade expansion and associated health risks, states have decided to step in and regulate the industry.
Now, most states in the US will require you to get a license before you can tattoo someone, while others will need an official company location; but it should be noted that there is no federal law governing the practice of tattooing, and as such, the regulation of businesses in each state depends on their whims.
It should also be noted that while some states have strict licensing requirements, so much so that children cannot get a tattoo or piercing with or without their parents’ consent; other states are so weak in their laws that tattoo artists don’t need a license to work. Style
If you want to get a tattoo license in the United States, we have outlined the different requirements for getting one, as well as the states that don’t require a license.
How to easily get a tattoo license in the United States
Alabama Department of Health Body Art Operator’s License required to start a tattoo business in Alabama. To obtain this authorization, you will need to present a valid blood-borne pathogen training certificate and the course must be approved by ADPH.
You must also provide proof of hepatitis B vaccination. This means that you must take one. A copy of your passport photo is also required. Please note that this permit is only valid for one year. You can apply online with the Alabama Department of Health.
The Alaska Department of Commerce, Welfare, and Economic Development issues a state tattoo license, and this license is called a Permanent Cosmetic Tattoo and Coloring License.
One of the basic requirements for obtaining this license is to pass an exam assigned by the department. To pass the exam, you must ensure that you have completed 380 hours or more of training (380+), you must provide a notarized statement, verified proof of the training record and a certified copy of CPR and agents blood-borne pathogens. Menu.
If you have completed training outside of Alaska, you must provide a completed Affidavit Confirmation Statement in support of the Articles of Association and Regulatory Booklet. Your license is guaranteed when you pass this exam. This license will expire on August 31 of each odd-numbered year.
3. Arizona: In Arizona, you don’t need a license to start your tattoo business, so start your own business.
The Arkansas Department of Health issues a tattoo license in the state and calls it a tattoo artist, permanent esthetician, body piercer, or Brander’s license. The state of Arkansas requires an official exam from Licence. The requirements listed correspond to the requirements to pass the exam.
- Completed apprenticeship (minimum 6 months, maximum 24 months)
- 375 hours worked hours of the supervisor (Log submitted by the trainer)
- Certified true copy of a valid CPR and blood-borne pathogen card
- If you are applying for a license as a permanent cosmetic artist, you must provide a copy of your high school diploma or GED
Arkansas needs a written request for application and testing information to the Arkansas Department of Health. Each license is valid until December 31 of each year.
Licensing of tattoos in this state is carried out by the county health department. While licensing is administered by each county, the state has its own basic licensing requirements, which include: Certificate of Completion of the LEA Approved Bloodborne Pathogen Course and Hepatitis B Vaccination Duration of your license in this state depends on the county in which you are applying.
Licensing in this state is also administered by the county health departments. While licensing is regulated by each county, the state has basic requirements, including:
LEA approved treatment certification for a blood-borne pathogen, your hepatitis B vaccination certificates, and Red Cross CPR certification and first aid certification. Similarly, the length of the license in this state varies by county.
7. Connecticut: Connecticut does not currently require a license, although it should do so in the near future.
8. Delaware: Delaware requires store registration and store owners must have authorization from the Department of Health, but no separate license is required to operate the tattoo store.
The Florida Department of Health is responsible for issuing a tattoo artist’s license in the state of Florida. To register for a license, you must complete a course in blood borne diseases and infectious diseases and provide proof. Additionally, you must achieve a score of 70% or higher to receive the certification. This license is renewed annually.
The State Environmental Health Agency does not regulate or certify the tattoo industry. However, most district health boards in Georgia have adopted their own local tattooing regulations. To be eligible for a license to participate in the Body Artist program, you must provide proof of work in a currently licensed Body Art Studio.
To apply, you must contact your local county health department of the Department of Health to apply for a body artist license. Complete a written request and submit it with the required documentation and all applicable payments.
To obtain a state tattoo license, you must provide the following conditions;
- Age confirmation
- ID photo
- Confirmation of work in Body Art Studio
- Confirmation of passing the departmental exam
- Proof of basic first aid / CPR training
- Confirmation of Completion of OSHA Approved Bloodborne Pathogens and Universal Precautions Training
- Confirmation of current hepatitis B vaccination status or documentation of refusal of vaccination
The Hawaii Department of Health’s Hygiene Division regulates tattooing and enforces licensing. To get a tattoo license in the state of Hawaii, you must:
- take a blood-borne pathogen course and send a copy of the certificate by mail
- new full tattoo artist license and $ 75 fee. Check out the state of Hawaii.
- Complete the Tuberculosis and Syphilis Reporting Form.The Ministry of Health strongly recommends that you get vaccinated against hepatitis B.
- Send everything by mail: Department of Sanitation, bul. Ala Moana, 591, Honolulu, HI 96813.
This license is valid until the end of January 31 of each year.
Currently, the tattoo business does not need licenses to work in the state. Although no license is required in the state, Idaho tattoo parlors are subject to inspection by the Department of Health and Human Services to prevent the spread of infectious and infectious diseases.
Again, in Idaho, tattooing is prohibited from branding or piercing to minors under the age of 14. People between the ages of 14 and 18 must obtain written consent from their parents or legal guardian before receiving a tattoo. Fines are charged for companies that break this law.
Until recently, tattoo artists in the state of Illinois weren’t required to have a permit or license to work, they were only subject to street checks, but that has changed as you must obtain a license to operate the tattoo business in the state.
To continue, you must pass a tattoo artist license test. This test typically tests your knowledge of state laws regarding sanitation, safety, hygiene, and tattooing laws in Illinois. The test is only performed in January and July of each year, and you can retake it if it fails.
You will need to pay a license fee of $ 200 to obtain a license. This license expires on December 31 of each year and is renewable by paying $ 20 before the expiration of the first license.
Indiana law does not require certification, registration, or licensing for people who wish to become tattoo artists. But state laws provide for prohibitions and requirements for operating the tattoo business, criminal penalties for violations of the law, investigation of complaints, and health and safety regulations.
However, this requires tattoo artists to take an OSHA approved course in blood-related pathogens. Likewise, you must complete a form and pay a registration fee of US $ 100 to have your facility reviewed.
Indiana passed Senate Bill 13 in 2097 to regulate tattooing. Legislation prohibits tattoo artists from tattooing people under the age of 18 without the presence and written consent of a parent or legal guardian.
The Iowa Department of Health licenses tattooing and piercing. To obtain a tattoo permit in Iowa, an artist must complete an application and provide the following documentation:
- Proof that you are at least 18 years old
- Proof that you have a high school diploma or GED (online diplomas will not be accepted)
- Proof that you have completed blood-borne pathogen training and standard first aid training
All artists must pay a non-refundable annual fee of $ 75.00 with their registration. All permits will expire on December 31 of the year. If your authorization expires, there will be an additional recovery fee of $ 25. To apply or renew online, please visit https://idph.iowa.gov/regulatory-programs/tattoo
The Kansas Council of Cosmetology grants a license to practice body art to tattoo artists, piercers, and permanent estheticians. The state of Kansas requires an official licensing exam. The requirements listed correspond to the requirements to pass the exam.
- Completion of a Board Approved Body Art Training Program
- Proof of graduate degree or GED certificate
- completed course on blood-borne pathogens
- Copy of consent forms for 50 procedures performed during training
- Application completed with proof of identity by age
The Department of Public Health regulates, certifies and inspects all body art studios, including tattoos, permanent makeup, ear and body piercings. Kentucky requires that all tattoo artists be registered with the county health department for which they will be working and must register for tattoo parlors and annual inspections of the premises.
Kentucky does not require tattoo artists to be licensed, for example, but they must register their business to be certified and verified. Tattoo and piercing studio certification costs $ 100. Tattoo artists and tattoo artists must be at least 18 years old. All construction plans must be submitted to the Planning Division of the Department of Public Health and Wellness of the Louisville Metro:
Well-being Health Health Metro Wellness
400 E. Gray Street
Louisville, KY 40202
Louisiana does not need a tattoo license. This only requires store registration and store owners must have authorization from the Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals, but no individual license is required.
A license from the Department of Health and Human Services is required for anyone who practices the art of tattooing in Maine. To get started, you need to apply for a license and you can download the app from the Ministry of Health website.
The application requires that you provide information on the applicant’s name, home and mailing address, proof of attendance within the past 3 years, a ministry-approved blood-borne disease education program, and a demonstration of knowledge of safe practices. when it comes to tattoo art. You must provide a copy of the water test if you are using a well or water supply system, and a copy of your septic system design if you are not in a public sewer.
In addition, you must also be 18 years old. or above and must have at least a high school diploma. Your license can be issued within 30 days of receipt of the complete application and payment of the applicable fees.
The Maryland Department of Health does not license tattoo and body piercing companies. But you must adhere to the special rules of art, which state that all tattoos must be done in accordance with state regulations governing the procedure for applying a body penetrating the skin.
Again, no one can tattoo a minor, regardless of the parent or guardian’s permission. However, in Baltimore mobile tattoo parlors and “tattoos” are prohibited.
Massachusetts tattoo artists must be trained and licensed to practice their craft. To be licensed as a tattoo artist, you must work at an approved tattoo center or body art center and undergo supervised training. Many jurisdictions require that you obtain an apprenticeship license before you begin your apprenticeship.
You should contact your local public health authority and attach documents that show you have completed the required training, such as pathogens and CPR. Classes.
You must complete at least two years of internship or 2400 hours of work supervised by a licensed tattoo artist to obtain a professional license. After completing the required period of study, you can apply for a professional license.
You should apply to your local public health authority and provide proof of completion of the required training, as well as documentation proving that you have met the work experience requirements.
Public Law No. 375, passed December 22, 2010, requires the body art center to be licensed annually by the Michigan Department of Health.
Before obtaining a license for a body art facility in Michigan, all locations must be vetted. The local health department where the facility is located conducts an inspection. Some of the essentials included in the inspection include hand washing for tattoo artists and only use pre-packaged disposable needles.
All professionals in your facility must be at least 18 years of age and all tattoo centers must offer payment for hepatitis B vaccines to all employees and demonstrate compliance with this rule.
To get your Minnesota Temporary Body Artist license, you must find a currently licensed Minnesota Body Artist who is willing to supervise you during the temporary license term. A technician interested in supervising a temporary technician must have at least two (2) years of experience as a licensed body art technician (not including the temporary license).
The temporary license fee is $ 240. To obtain a temporary technician license, you must:
- be 18 years of age or over;
- identify a currently licensed MN Body Artist who is in good standing and will agree to supervise you during your temporary license;
- Work for a currently licensed MN body art institution in good standing;
- provide a copy of a valid legal ID proving age;
- Complete the Temporary Body Art Technician License Application (PDF); and
- pay a fee of $ 240 payable to the Minnesota Treasurer.
Obtaining a license can take up to 20 working days.
You must register with the State Department of Health for your business to be eligible for a tattoo. The establishment or location where the tattoo is to be performed must be specified during check-in and the registered person is only allowed to tattoo at the designated establishment or location. This suggests that the tattoo artist does not need a license to work in this state.
Registration is valid for one (1) year, and each person registered under this section must pay an annual registration fee for the ministry in the amount established by the ministry, but not to exceed one hundred and fifty dollars (150, $ 00)
All practitioners, including tattoo artists, must be licensed to work in this state. These licenses are issued by the Missouri Professional Registration Office, Bureau of Tattoo, Body Piercing and Branding. Missouri requires that all applicants for a tattoo artist license complete first aid and CPR training.
The course must come from a recognized group such as the American Red Cross, the American Heart Association or the National Safety Council. Applicants must also complete an infection control course, which covers topics such as hand washing, waste disposal, and sterilization techniques. These courses are offered by both the Red Cross and the Occupational Safety and Health Administration.
In addition, applicants can take formal training in the art of tattooing that lasts at least 300 hours and includes at least 25 tattoos. Applicants can also demonstrate that they have worked for three of the previous seven years as a tattoo artist; this requirement is used for tattoo artists in Missouri who are authorized to expire their license, or for tattoo artists practicing in states that do not license in the region.
Body art and body art institutions require a license in the state of Montana. Licenses are issued annually and are valid for one calendar year. Artists must have valid certificates in Blood Pathogen Education and Basic First Aid courses and have passed the hygiene test. Renewal notices will be mailed to licensees by the end of the calendar year.
Licenses are reviewed and issued annually (January 1 to December 31) by the Environmental Health Service. Existing licensees will receive renewals in November. Renewal payments must be made by December 31st to avoid paying the fee.
Commercial tattoo artists are often required to obtain a license from the local government. Select the appropriate license application from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services website. Choose a tattoo artist as the type of body art you will be doing from the list provided. You can check other categories as needed, including body mark, permanent color technique, or piercings.
Get bloodborne pathogen training that covers sanitation, infection control, safety and sterilization procedures for at least two hours if you haven’t in the past three years. You must receive training from an accredited institution such as a hospital, the Red Cross, or other accredited institution. Attach a copy of your certificate of completion to your application.
Take first aid training at a certified facility for at least two hours if you haven’t done so in the past three years. Attach a copy of your certificate of completion to your application. Documentation is required to prove age and citizenship; You can attach a copy of your driver’s license, passport, naturalization documents or other government issued documents.
Submit your completed application and required fees to the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Department of State Medical Licensing Division.
The Southern District of Nevada Department of Environmental Health regulates, approves, and inspects all body art establishments. To obtain these permissions, you must;
- be at least 18 years old.
- have work experience or training of at least six months.
- Received a mark of at least 80% on the written exam.
- Have a valid certification in the field of infectious disease education.
Anyone wishing to open an approved institution must complete an application form 30 days before the start of operations.
29. New Hampshire
Applicants wishing to obtain a tattoo license should contact the Professional Licensing and Certification Department, Body Art. These candidates are required to practice tattooing, body piercing, branding or permanent makeup in an institution under the supervision of a tattoo, piercing or branding practitioner for at least 3 years.
Applicants must also complete an approved course in techniques and techniques for the proper sterilization of instruments and materials used for piercing, marking or tattooing.
Initial license conditions
- Submit your application and pay the required application fees.
- Please provide proof of at least 3 years of experience in piercing, branding or tattooing.
License renewal requirements
- Submit a renewal request and pay the required renewal fees
- Submit documentation of 3 hours of continuing education courses related to piercing, branding or tattooing practices during the previous year.
30. New Jersey
No operator can operate a tattoo or piercing business without first obtaining a license from the Paterson City Department of Health.An initial license application must be filed with the Paterson City Department of Health with a fee of $ 350. US $ attached.
A license request must contain the following information:
- full name, age, gender, residential address at time of application
- If it is a company, full name of the company, date and status of incorporation, address of place or establishment, name and address of registered agent, and name, address and age of any principal holding more than 10% of the shares.
- The internship, training and / or work experience of the candidate in the company or profession for which a license is requested.
- The length of time the applicant has exercised such a business or profession.
- Name, address and age of each tattoo artist and / or body The piercer will first be used to perform the service.
All licenses expire on the last day of each calendar year. hear. The first license expiration date for renewal must be December 31, 2001. All renewal requests must be submitted in writing to the Department of Health.
31. New Mexico
The Council of Body Art Practitioners is responsible for licensing tattooing and body art. No person, firm, partnership, joint venture, association, business foundation, corporation or any organized group of persons may operate a body art institution without the permission of the body art institution. -art. The permit must be obtained annually.
The initial and final deadlines for issuing a permit are established by the Ministry. The applicant must pay a reasonable and non-refundable fee set by the Department for each authorization to establish an artistic institution. The holder of a body art creation permit may only employ operators who have complied with the authorization requirements of this article.
32. New York
The New York State Department of Health oversees tattoo and tattoo licensing. To start requesting a license, go to the NYC Business Express website and create a NYC Business Express account if you don’t already have one. Click Apply Online. Scroll down to the DOHMH Apps heading and click on the check mark next to Tattoo License.
Enter your personal information, including your name, social security number, and date of birth. Enter your address, phone number, and email address. Go to the next page. Select the date and time of the infection control course you want to attend.
Pay $ 26 for the infection control course and $ 100 for a tattoo license, plus 2.9 percent for service with a credit card. Submit your application and print your confirmation.
Please bring your official ID and exam confirmation page. After the exam, you will be told whether you passed the exam or not. If you are successful, your licensed photograph will be taken immediately. Otherwise, you can register for the next available course at no additional cost.
33. North Carolina
The state health department regulates tattooing for safety reasons. The department requires tattoo artists to be licensed. Artists must renew their certificates annually. Fees vary from county to county, but typically range from $ 200 to $ 300 for the first certification, with some counties charging a lower renewal fee.
Before getting a license, you must first find out where you can work. Tattoo licenses are issued to specific artists working in a specific store; If you are new to the field, apply for in-store training. You must obtain a license whether you are an artist or a student.
Complete your license application with the North Carolina Department of Environmental Health. Search the website for the county you live in for the download form on the Health Services page. Submit the form at least 30 days before the start of the work and include payment.
34. North Dakota
Producing body art without a license in North Dakota is Class B misconduct. The maximum penalty for Class B misconduct is 30 days in jail and a fine of $ 1,500. There is currently a $ 100 fee for a Body Art Practitioner License.
All body art operators must:
- be at least 18 years old
- be certified for cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR)
- be certified to teach pathogenic pathogens
- get the hepatitis B virus (HBV) vaccine
- work in an approved body art institution
The state of Ohio not only licenses tattoo artists for safety and quality, but also oversees the tattoo parlors themselves. In Ohio, licenses are administered by local health departments, not by a government agency.
If you want to get a tattoo license in Ohio, all you need to do is go to the health department and explain your ambition. The representatives who work there will provide you with a specific list of training courses to follow. After completing the training, complete the application form and show that you have met the requirements.
Pay the fees when you apply and the license will be mailed to you. You must complete a tattoo training course before you can become a licensed artist in Ohio. You must also take a course in sterilization, first aid, and blood diseases before you can be allowed to tattoo other people.
Applicants must be at least eighteen (18) years of age and must provide proof of at least two (2) full years of licensed experience as a foreign artist or proof of approved training. If the license experience requirements cannot be met, the candidate must enroll in the student program.
Applicants must submit the following:
- Tattoo / piercing artist license application completed (for each type of license)
- Notarized copy of photo ID
- Notarized copy of birth certificate
- Completed affidavit of legal presence
- Proof of licensing experience OR proof of approved training
- Current training certificate on blood-borne pathogens
- Current first aid certificate
- Current CPR training certificate
- license fee of $ 250 (for each type of license acquisition)
- Low Income Individual License Fee Bill 2933
Submit all documentation and documentation to:
Oklahoma Department of Health
Consumer Protection Division
PO Box 268815
OKC, OK 73126-8815
The Department of Health oversees the application of the tattoo license in Oregon. To obtain a license to operate a tattoo parlor in Oregon, you need:
- provide proof that you are over 18, complete and submit an application and pay applicable fees.
- Please provide proof that you have a high school diploma or a general education diploma (GED).
- Submit documentation for attending a Blood Borne Pathogen Training Course from a licensed HLO provider (Blood Borne Pathogen Training Course must be in accordance with U.S. Federal regulations.)
- Provide documentation on CPR and basic first aid training from an HLO approved provider.
- Provide documentation of appropriate path completion
Again, the candidate must graduate from an approved Oregon tattoo school after completing the following required training:
- Completion of an approved training program comprising 360 hours of training (210 theoretical / 150 practical) supervised by a president under the supervision of a certified tattoo artist.
- Must have documentation showing at least 50 procedures performed
- Training must be provided by a licensed Oregon tattoo artist registered as a teacher in the Graduate School of Education with the Private Career Commission of Local Commissions.
- The registered teacher must provide direct advice on hands-on learning on a student-to-teacher basis for students undergoing hands-on training
- Approved tattoo schools must submit official transcripts directly to the Health Licensing Authority.
- Take and pass the written exam
There are currently no state tattoo health regulations in the state of Pennsylvania, and tattoo artists are not required to be certified. However, all practicing tattoo artists must comply with the 2001 Micropigmentation Act. Under this law, tattooing people under the age of 18 is prohibited.
39. Rhode Island
Tattoo licenses are obtained from the Rhode Island Department of Health. You need to go to their website and click on Tattoo Artists / Body Piercers to fill out a form for your license.
40 South Carolina
To obtain a tattoo operator license in South Carolina, the candidate must be at least twenty-one years old and must have a certificate of successful completion of the course on an annual basis. for bloodborne pathogens and Department-approved tattoo infection control, current American Red Cross certification in first aid and current adult cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) certification obtained from the Cross -American Red, American Heart Association or National Safety Council. p184>
The permits are valid for a period of 12 months after the date of issue. Mail the duly completed and notarized application form and other required documents, as well as payment for your permit:
Department of Health Licensing
2600 Bull Street
Columbia, South Carolina 29201
41 South Dakota
In South Dakota, the practice of tattooing and permanent makeup is not regulated by the government. The rules are left to the discretion of each district, which can create its own permits and training requirements. But generally the requirements include:
- obtain a location in a permanent permanent location for your business.
- apply for a City Tattoo and Body Piercing license.
- Pay related payments online.
- Fully personalize your establishment
- Schedule your health and sanitary inspection using the Citizenserve web portal.
- Pass the sanitation successfully. inspection. Print and publish your health certificate.
- Obtain your South Dakota sales tax license before opening.
- Open your institution to customers.
- Make sure current sales are tax compliant.
The state of Tennessee licenses tattoo artists to ensure public health. To get a license, you just need to go to the Ministry of Health and fill out an application. Take a course in tattooing and sterilization techniques. To take a test.
Once you’ve got a passing score, ask for the tattoo apprentice. Fill out the form and pay $ 140. Trainee at a licensed tattoo parlor managed by someone with three years of tattoo experience in one year. Go back to the Department of Health and request a list of tattoo operator licenses with information about your courses, internship and experience. Pay $ 140 to become a licensed tattoo artist.
Texas tattoo artists must be properly licensed, comply with health and safety regulations, and comply with all local ordinances. You must have a separate tattoo parlor and cannot run the business from home. You can use the mobile trailer for tattooing and piercing, but you need to have a separate license for each studio.
You need to apply for a tattoo license to perform tattoos for each of your studios. You must also obtain a separate Piercing Studio license for piercing. The Drugs and Medical Devices Unit is responsible for conducting on-site inspections of the tattoo and piercing studio.
Utah County Health Departments administer the registration and licensing process for tattoo and body art businesses. Contact the county health department and request an enrollment package for tattoo technician approval. See all documents in the registration package.
Get the hepatitis B vaccine or complete a withdrawal form. Take a course on a blood-borne pathogen. Complete the registration form and return it to the appropriate county office. Display the county registration certificate for customers to see.
As a prerequisite for licensing, a candidate tattoo artist or piercing specialist must provide a training certificate of at least 1,000 hours of experience gained over two calendar years while working under the direct supervision of a piercer. . or an approved and reputable tattoo artist
To continue, you must complete an application and pay an application fee of US $ 75.00 (non-refundable processing fee). You must then complete the Registration, training or experience section, followed by the verification of student experience.
You must also provide proof of successful completion of the 3-hour Universal Precautions and Infectious Diseases course. Licenses and registrations are renewed every two years after payment of the required fees.
The Virginia Department of Hairdressing and Beauty is responsible for the licensing and regulation of the tattoo profession in Virginia. A candidate who wishes to obtain a tattoo license must pass a knowledge test. To pass this exam, a candidate must pass one of the following methods:
- Completion of an approved tattoo training program at an authorized tattoo school in Virginia.
Documentation required . Completed tattoo artist verification form for training and professional development.
- Completion of an approved tattoo training program at a licensed tattoo parlor in Virginia.
Required documents : A completed training form.
- Completion of a tattoo education or training program which is essentially equivalent to the Virginia program, but received outside the Commonwealth of Virginia but in the United States. and its territory.
Documents required : verification of the completion of the training or apprenticeship.
- Documentation of three experiences in the previous five years as a tattoo artist outside the Commonwealth of Virginia, but in the United States and its territories.
Documentation required : Form completed to train and validate the experience of tattoo artists.
In Washington state, every tattoo artist must be licensed and the studio must have a location license. Each store or mobile unit that provides tattoos, body art or piercings must be licensed. To obtain a store, mobile division license, your company must:
- have an exterior entrance separate from the rooms used for sleeping or living.
- have appropriate toiletries for customers located in or near a store or business
- Do not use any place other than the toilet for residential and business purposes.
- Meet the zoning requirements of the county, town or city in which the business is located.
- Ensure safe storage and labeling of all equipment and substances.
- Obey local and national fire codes.
- Have at least $ 100,000 of liability insurance for combined bodily injury and property damage.
- Be registered with the Ministère du Revenu. You are automatically registered with the Department of Revenue when you apply for a business license to obtain a business license.
48. West Virginia
Piercing professionals in West Virginia are responsible for registering with the Department of Public Health before starting a business in West Virginia. Technician registration must be renewed each year. To complete the online application for a new Certificate of Registration or a Renewed Piercing Specialist Certificate of Registration, you will need:
- social Security number
- a list of names, addresses of the piercing studios and the phone number you are currently working with or intend to work with.
- Credit card: Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover
In addition to the application and fees, you must provide the following documents before the issuance of the registration certificate. :
- Copy of hepatitis B vaccination status:
- Completed vaccination certificate
- Laboratory evidence of immunity or
- Signed vaccination notice
- Copy of exposure control training
These documents can be sent by email: Judith.A.Ashcraft@wv.gov
by fax: 304-558-1071
or by mail to: Office of Environmental Health Services
Department of Sanitary and Hygienic Services
350 Capitol Street, Room 313
Charleston, WV 25301-3713
A license is required for the person tattooing another person and / or the person doing the piercing. Each license is issued by the Department of Safety and Professional Services and will expire on June 30 of each year.
License application process
Check out the list of body art agents. If your institution will be located in one of the cities / counties listed, contact an agent in that county for instructions on how to apply. Please do not apply to the Department of Security and Professional Services.
Submit your completed application (Form # 3174) along with the pre-license review fee and schedule. Once your request is received and processed, a DSPS inspector will contact you to schedule a pre-authorization review. During the inspection, your inspector will inform you of the applicable code requirements that your establishment must meet.
Wyoming is one of the few states that does not impose official obligations on tattoo artists. But the institutions are checked annually according to the rules and regulations of the Regional Health Council for Body Art Institutions.